British Niche & Indie Perfumery Series Part II

The idea is to do short reviews of British based niche & indie perfume houses. It won’t be all encompassing. Everything I review will be from my collection or from samples that I have paid for. I do hope you enjoy it. My daily wears will be on my Insta account, Alityke. Some may not make it onto the blog cos life can get in the way & I’m no longer as organised as I once was. Pix will be mine.

Boutique from Bedeaux. Perfumer Amanda Beadle

I wrote this before getting out the card & doing the pix. I can smell lavender beeswax floor polish on blond wood. The impression of new cloth & the starchy steam press smell that clings to them. A distinct iris delivers the powderiness of dust motes visible in the sunshine. Turns out Amanda’s inspiration is an upmarket boutique & yes absolutely. I note the card says Boutique is perfect with jeans & a white shirt. I’m in a cream hoodie & my favourite vintage Levi’s & feel underdressed. On a suited & booted man this could be devastating. On me? I need to be in a perfectly tailored suit too.

It’s Saturday & I decided to wear a long term love from a British Artisan perfumery brand. I am in Dryad from Papillon Artisan Perfumer created by the Goddess that is Liz Moores

Dryad

Green, bitter, herbal, citrus. These leaf clad nymphs strew their scented gifts before the smiling goddess. This earth deity, seated on a throne of growing branches & dried grasses, surrounded by jonquil. She wears her flowing hair threaded with blue & yellow flowers. Her gown of velvet textured leaf green, scented with fragrant sachets against the winter gone. She greets the twilight with a wave of her pale hand & the tiny star like blossoms above her twinkle, lighting the grove & releasing their hypnotic floral sweetness.

Dryad is my earthly goddess fragrance, this goddess is smiling, welcoming, calm & inviting. Dryad is the essence of nature’s love. How I adore Dryad, she is “mine”.

Jo Malone Black Vetyver Cafe. Perfumer Jo Malone

Sunday was Jo Malone Black Vetyver Cafe. I believe this was from prior to the buy out & is now long discontinued. I’ll keep this short. This smell of coffee & dry vetiver. These notes have mellowed over time & are more pleasing to my nose. Good lifespan for a cologne from Jo Malone. I’ll wear more often but won’t hunt it down

Northburn Citron Blond. Perfumer unknown

NorthburN are a luxury candle & lifestyle boutique in Whitley Bay, Northumberland. They also sell online https://north-burn.co.uk/. As well as their candles etc they do three Eau de Parfums. I’m currently wearing Citron Blond, a dry peppery citrus which gives me a white flash. A very bright & uplifting without a hint of sweetness. What is s very pleasant finding is that this peppery citrus is still present after 8 hours. Admittedly as a skin scent but I’m happy with that.

About alityke

Dog loving, fragrance fiend. Started to miss writing so got on with writing this after 10 years of procrastination! Collaborate? Contact alityke@hotmail.com or Alityke on IG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to British Niche & Indie Perfumery Series Part II

  1. rickyrebarco says:

    Oooh, I think I would love Boutique with iris and cardamom and lavender. Sounds divine. I have never tried Papillon Dryad. I know! How could I miss it? But, I have, somehow. I love your description. I’ll be ordering a sample this week for sure. 

    • alityke says:

      Dryad is the best modern chypre I’ve met by some way. It is framed in the green/astringent style I prefer. Liz Moores is such a talent.
      I’ve put Boutique to one side to try again, I found it intriguing.

  2. Nose Prose says:

    Your description of Dryad is so poetic! ❤
    Boutique sounds interesting. IRL those types of stores intimidate me a little bit, but the scent notes sound welcoming.

  3. LOVE short, sharp reviews Alityke. These are so good and enticing.

    I remember one of my friends loving Black Vetyver Cafe. It smelled so good on her and quite historically masculine.

    Portia xx

  4. Great reviews, Alityke! The only one I know here is Dryad, and it’s fantastic. Boutique sounds fabulous. I would probably enjoy that Jo Malone too.

  5. Flaconneur says:

    I agree with Nose Prose, Alityke. Your description of Dryad is poetic! I’m guessing you like this one. 😉

Leave a comment